A busy time of year… and a peek at Tasmania!

Somewhat unintentionally, I’ve had a bit of a break from writing. However, as I’ve just returned from Tasmania and have a whole lot of travel coming up in the next month, I figure that now is as good as time as any to get back on board!

The end of the year has been hectic, as it is for everyone I suppose. Mine has been marred with injury, with back and hip problems keeping me from my regular exercise routine, as well as a pretty hectic work schedule. That said, I’ve had a truly excellent December thus far, and can’t wait to visit my family tomorrow to celebrate the festive season properly!

I’ve spent the last week in Tasmania, in Australia’s south. It wasn’t my first visit, but given the last time I travelled there I was 16, it is fair to say that I appreciated it a whole lot more this time around!

Hobart, Tasmania’s capital, is pretty spectacular. Lonely Planet ranked it as number 7 on its list of top ten cities, best in travel for 2013. I like to think i’m ahead of the curve. Kidding!

We stayed on the harbour at the Hotel Grand Chancellor. I’d highly recommend the hotel, particularly a harbour view room as we had – the views are pretty special:

Hobart 1

The hotel also has a pool, which meant I was able to get in some exercise even though I wasn’t able to run. Not all bad:

Swimming pool

We spent Saturday morning at the Salamanca markets (even though it was raining) and attended a beautiful wedding in the afternoon. Thankfully the weather cleared up in time for the reception in Sandy Bay.

This photo was taken from a private residence, but I’d highly recommend heading to Sandy Bay to check out the views:

Sandy Bay

The Museum of Old and New Art (or, MONA) is a must see in Hobart. The privately held collection is very special. Some of it is a little bit controversial, but I believe there is a route around the gallery you can take to avoid the nudity and more controversial images if you choose.

We just wandered around, reading about all the art work on a handy iPhone/iPod touch (which was part of the admission fee). This was my favourite room:

Hobart 3Hobart was pretty special, and it was just the start of our trip. I can’t wait to show you more of Tassie and show you why it is rated as a such a great place to visit in Australia.

Until then, wishing you and your families a very merry Christmas (if you celebrate it), and a wonderful New Year.

The Healthy Globetrotter

 

 

4 thoughts on “A busy time of year… and a peek at Tasmania!

  1. Bama

    I didn’t know a lot about Tasmania. But this post shows me some interesting parts of the island. Oh and MONA looks kind of intriguing for me! 🙂 I’d really love to visit it myself one day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

